2015 · 2015/07 · Vignette

The wrong colour

Purple with block colour swirls. No. Plain lavender. Boring. Royal blue with a lace trim. If only I dared to. Shades of purple in a black setting. Entirely too ugly.

“It’s the wrong colour.” I hear his voice unexpectedly in my ear, so close I haven’t the space to jump. I am ever so conscious that the staccato hammering of my heart must clearly pulse the skin between my collarbones as I turn my head slowly to my left. Although it is the first time I hear his voice, I am certain it belongs to him before my eyes flutter over his frame. Like always, my glance is short lived, my eyes dart away from his face, my eyelids lowering before I chance another look up. Eyes darting around the store, unseeing the masses of people browsing through lines of overpriced clothes, I dare another glance at his face, never managing to lift my eyes above the lines of his mouth.

“What colour would be better?” My question trembles, and I half hope he can’t hear it.

“White.” No hesitance. He lifts my chin, turning my head towards him, and I can feel his fingers all over my body. His thumb runs across my lower lip just as my tongue wets it. “Right there. Smeared across your lips.”

One thought on “The wrong colour

Leave a Comment / Reply

