2015 · 2015/10 · NaJoWriMo · NaJoWriMo 2015/10

NaJoWriMo 03/10/2015: Dear Mental Critic

Thank you for your continued support. Really. I’m not sure where I would be if it was not for your constant guidance. Your shushing of my ideas and your stopping of my tracks. Your freezing of my thought patterns and your faltering of my imagination. While I am grateful beyond words that you have stopped me on numerous occasions from driving myself crazy by running away with an idea, I could not help but notice that my Muse is less appreciative of your efforts.

You see, she feels neglected. My Muse is suffocating.

She stirs in me from time to time, with less and less frequency as over the years I have been unable to listen to her. Don’t get me wrong, dear Mental Critic, it is not purely your fault. Time, or lack thereof, also has something to do with it. But it is undeniable that every time the Muse would spur me in a certain direction, you are right on her heels and trip her over in your hurry to point out to me any potential negatives. And I have been following your advice, because I took the easy route, listening to the loudest voice.

But isn’t it time, after all these years, for your retirement? Or, maybe just for a short holiday.

You have been working so hard, keeping me from making rush decisions, ensuring I always consider and give in to the ‘what if someone found out what you just did’, and thus stopping myself from doing it.

But you see, poor Muse has been left behind and silenced so many times. Surely you can understand that she would like some time in the spotlight. Surely you can understand that she would like to be able to do her job, and provide me with some ideas.

So here’s the deal. I have been listening to you for over a decade. Why don’t you take a holiday, as heaven knows, you deserve it. Let Muse take care of me and guide me for two months, and you’ll be back in time to help me reconsider what Muse and I come up with in the meantime.

Imagine the renewed energy and interest you would bring with your return after a brief holiday, how you could help me edit my outpourings.

I hope you may consider this suggestion as an opportunity for some personal development for yourself. I know I am going to take this chance and bring my best out of it.

I hope you enjoy this short holiday, after all, two months, is really nothing compared to your incessant work for the past decade. Take a break, maybe read a new Thesaurus or Norton’s Critical Theory, soak in some fictitious sun you never allow me to indulge in, and I shall be here upon your return to continue our collaboration. You will see, this is for the best for all of us.

Until next time, I shall remain your humble servant in absentia.

Yours,

My Creative Side.

Leave a Comment / Reply

