2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 02/11/2015: Battling the inner critic

DAY 2:

“I’m writing a first draft and reminding myself that I’m simply shovelling sand into a box so that later I can build castles.”

Shannon Hale

Overview: As I was writing today, I kept having to stop myself from looking back at what I had already typed, as I knew that once I start reviewing and editing, I will never make any progress. Editing can wait until December – I need to focus on just getting my thoughts out first.

Suggested word count: 3,333

Actual word count: 4,086

Today’s contribution: 2,220

Satisfaction: 9/10. Could have written more if I had the time was able to focus better.

Progress: I didn’t start writing again until late in the evening, as I spent most of the day still cleaning and unboxing. Nevertheless, I made good progress in terms of the word count. I found myself looking through youtube and amazon at times, my thoughts wondering all over the place. I have all these things to say, but it’s hard to put them into words, and the urge to write and re-write and re-write and re-write is strong.

Leave a Comment / Reply

