2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 03/11/2015: Steady on

DAY 3:

“Success is steady progress toward one’s personal goals.”

Jim Rohn

Overview: Steady overall progress with some personal dissatisfaction to flavour the day.

Suggested word count: 5,000

Actual word count: 6,040

Today’s contribution: 1,954

Satisfaction: 7/10

Progress: I was able to write for an hour before leaving to run errands in the morning, and managed to type up some 1,200 words, a good start to the day. I didn’t struggle like last night, the words came much easier. Perhaps writing in the morning is really a good thing. However, I did spend some time formatting and looking at the pages so far, although only aesthetically and I stopped myself from reading through them. I pasted my writing from Scrivener to Word, telling myself it’s a good thing to have several back-up copies, but in reality I just wanted to play around with fonts and line spacing. I found the font of my dreams that I have imagined I would use and have been looking for and now my manuscript-in-progress is looking rather pretty.

I got home from town around 5pm, and I could not get in the writing mood afterwards. Having been banned from my contact lenses by my optometrist today as she found my eyes way too dry during my eye test, I am now on a strict mission to re-hydrate my eyes and hopefully preserve my eyesight. This means I cannot wear my lenses for a month, and I have to apply eye drops every three hours for a few days, then 4 times a day afterwards (so, like, every 4 hours then…). Between the eye drops and no contact lenses, I can barely see, and staring at the screen while I try to type further dries my eyes as I forget to blink. As a result, little writing was done this evening – I only managed to type some 700 words, and I know I could edit the hell out of each sentence. But never mind. My eyes are more important, and I still wrote almost 2,000 words today, so no reason to feel too upset. The only thing that’s bugging me is that I could not finish the section I wanted, probably because I wrote too much about nothing, and I am pretty sure I then repeated it five times. Oh well. Tomorrow is a new day.

Leave a Comment / Reply

