2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 07/11/2015: End of Week 1!

DAY 7:

“Survival can be summed up in three words – never give up. That’s the heart of it really. Just keep trying.”

Bear Grylls

Overview: A roller-coaster week with an overall acceptable progress.

Suggested word count: 11,667

Actual word count: 13,387

Today’s contribution: 1,153

Satisfaction: 7.5/10

Progress:

I woke up shortly after 7am to the ping of my phone and knowing it could only be one person messaging me at that time, of course my eyes flew open and my hand grabbed for the device. Maybe I shouldn’t have been so eager to see His response to my earlier comment, because it was not what I wanted to hear, even if it was pretty much what I should have expected. He told me He needs some time, and that I need some time as well. I mean, okay, maybe I was guilt tripping Him, maybe even on purpose a little, but don’t tell me what I need, okay?! He needs time, because the current status quo is apparently not fair on either of us. What exactly is not fair, He did not elaborate. Me being a little more needy than being happy with a “good afternoon” message? Him not being able to provide more, having said I do to another, years before I entered the picture? We both knew it from the start, so it didn’t come as a surprise… But I am really not happy and amused by His declaration that what happens next has been decided, by Him, for both of our sakes. Maybe we do need some time, but it should not be something He decides and then conveniently disappears before I even wake up. It should be our decision. But He cannot handle any more confrontation, any more demands, so naturally, it’s time to cut the bottom of His list off, and that’s me.

Sucks to be me.

So to avoid bawling my eyes out at such an early hour, I decided to go back to sleep, and somehow managed to do it. Perhaps the years of living on 4 hours of sleep every night is catching up to me. Anyway, I didn’t get out of bed until 11am, and that’s not how I wanted to spend this Saturday. Oh no. I had big plans. It’s Double Up Day in NaNoWriMo land, which means writers are encouraged to double their usual daily word count, which for me would be 2 x 2,000 = 4,000-ish. That did not happen.

A skype date with my sister and the arrival of the new washing machine took up most of the afternoon, and then it was time to spend the M&S voucher we received for signing up to a new account with the internet provider, and no, it could not wait.

In the end I managed to finish the section I started yesterday, but I did not have the energy to start a new one. My overall word count is still acceptable to me, so I am not too upset, even if the last two days have been rather pathetic writing wise. All in all, I am quite happy to have started NaNoWriMo and got through the first week with little hurdles and a good start. Here’s hoping that the rest of the month goes well too.

Also, I have just checked as I was updating my word count on the NaNoWriMo site, and it appears that participants from my city have surpassed 2 MILLION WORDS in the first week! That is just amazing!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 07/11/2015: End of Week 1!

Leave a Comment / Reply

