2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 15/11/2015: Write on

DAY 15:

“We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained.”

Marie Curie

Overview: An average writing day in most sense.

Suggested word count: 25,000

Actual word count: 27,985

Today’s contribution: 1,807

Satisfaction: 8/10

Progress: It’s been a lazy Sunday.

It’s supposed to be the Night of Writing Dangerously in NaNoWriMo land, and even those who did not feel like paying close to $300 for some snacks and drinks and a pretty room to write in are encouraged to write as much as they possibly can today. Somehow I did not get whisked off my feet and did not even feel the ghost of the NoWD spirit pass me by. I had an average day for writing, slightly above the recommended word count but really I just wrote a normal length section. Still in Part II.

There are two more sections of Part II and a wrap-up, ease-into-Part III section that I want to finish before moving on to the next part, but I already feel like I have been focusing way too much on Part II. I’m not sure how much I will be able to immerse myself in Part III, but I hope it will happen.

I am hoping that I can write about one and half or two sections tomorrow, and hopefully hit the 30,000 words. It’s crazy to see how it all adds up – I am currently on 67 A4 pages in Word with 12 point font and 1.15 line spacing. I gave up using Scrivener early on as I got confused about the different word counts I got between Scrivener and Word. As I am not writing a novel with all the plots and characters and sub-plots, I don’t require the easy structuring that Scrivener is so good at providing. I am able to just type and go on with my stories in Word as I am basically writing a reflecting memoir of some sort. If I ever was to write something with more structure, I would probably go back to Scrivener as I like the outlining and structuring it makes so easy.

The plan for Week 3 is to not give up, to write every day, to make a dent in writing up Part III, and to hopefully reach over 40,000 words by the end of it.

Leave a Comment / Reply

