2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 16/11/2015: No pain no gain

DAY 16:

“I assess the power of a will by how much resistance, pain, torture it endures and knows how to turn to its advantage.”

Friedrich Nietzsche

Overview: A painful writing day.

Suggested word count: 26,666

Actual word count: 30,036

Today’s contribution: 2,051

Satisfaction: 9/10

Progress:

Today I wrote a short section and started another, but as it is going to be a long one, I only just got the first few paragraphs done to set the tone. Both sections I worked on were dark, painful, violent, and tragic.

I am drained.

I still have to finish the final section of Part II tomorrow, and it is going to be just as, if not more, painful as today. But I think it has to be done, it is important not to skip over these stories just because they are painful to recall, because they tickle some old demons that I buried.

I hope that by writing out these sections, I will be able to leave them somewhat behind me. They will have a new life in my laptop, and my mind can move on, hopefully to nicer places.

As a positive, I reached 30,000 words today, and that consoles me in my dark moments.

On another note, I am not sure I’m liking this new wordpress post writing look. It is entirely too streamlined and modern looking. Although the drop down list of categories and tags with tick boxes is quite handy. Guess I’ll just have to get used to it.

Leave a Comment / Reply

