2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 17/11/2015: Pay off

DAY 17:

“I’ve got so many ideas, and sometimes the more exhausted my body gets, the more active my mind gets.”

Hilary Mantel

Overview: Part II finished. Oh yes.

Suggested word count: 28,333

Actual word count: 34,348

Today’s contribution: 4,312

Satisfaction: 10/10

Progress:

I finished Part II. I did not think I would do it as I sat down to write after 9 pm, but I did it. I poured out my pain, confusion, helplessness and angst on the keyboard that I have been dreading ever since I came up with this project. While I knew I wanted to write these stories, I also knew that this particular one would be the most difficult and painful to recall and put into words. Without wanting to sound pathetic, without making it into an apology, I wrote down the events that haunted me for months. And here I am, heart still beating a little too fast, numbness slowly creeping over me. I was hoping I that this purging would bring some catharsis, but so far all I feel is my adrenalin fuelled heartbeat back then echoed now in my chest.

With Part II finished, I can now get on with Part III, and I hope it will be a little easier to write. Somehow, Part II seems a little more personal, perhaps because it covers a longer time period and more emotional involvement, even if Part III will have more stories due to the number of people involved. To date I have only written the stories of four people, and if I am to write about everyone I planned to in Part III, that would involve another eight people to get my head around. As I said earlier, I am unlikely to finish all the stories I want to write by the end of November, but as long as I write the 50,000 words by the 30th, I will consider my first NaNoWriMo a success. And as I am a little ahead in the word counts than what is suggested, I am hopeful that I will manage.

Tonight I’m off to mend my soul with Mick.

 

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 17/11/2015: Pay off

Leave a Comment / Reply

