2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 22/11/2015: So close

DAY 22:

“Adversity is the first path to truth.”

Lord Byron

Overview: Oh so close. And oh so tired.

Suggested word count: 36,667

Actual word count: 45,362

Today’s contribution: 2,176

Satisfaction: 9/10

Progress:

It’s the beginning of Week 4 and it feels exactly like that.

I am tired of opening up the same document every day, scrolling to a new section, and typing away.

I have 11 more stories to write, and no, I don’t think I will do them all before the end of November. But I am getting closer and closer to the 50,000 words and closer and closer to the end of November, and I keep moving, dragging my fingers over the keyboard just one more time, just one more day, just this story… And I start again tomorrow.

It’s day 22 of NaNoWriMo and it has been exactly 22 days when I tried to bargain with myself to get out of writing for just one day. I’m ahead of the suggested word count, it’s okay to skip one day… I’ve been really busy today, it’s okay to skip one day… I’ve had a horrible day, it’s okay to skip one day… But it has been exactly 22 days when I was stronger than myself and dug my heels in and wrote something, anything, just a few words.

I still have 5,000 words to write to officially finish NaNoWriMo and even after that a few more stories to be able to say I finished my story book. But I am getting there, closer every day, even if it feels like little progress is being made.

I am struggling, in simpler terms. But I am not giving up.

I keep postponing when I start writing, and as the clock creeps closer and closer to 8pm, 9pm, 10pm, 10.30pm, I know I have to get on with it, and I do. It’s those first sentences, those first paragraphs that I have to squeeze out, after that the story takes over and it flows without much effort apart from my memories coming back and my fingers typing them. Sometimes it’s hard as the story is long and my fingers can’t type as fast as the scenes tumble over each other in my head; sometimes it’s hard because I do not want to let the memories out from the boxes and corners I shoved them in.

I’m almost there. I can see the end of the tunnel, and by sheer stubbornness, I am going to reach it.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 22/11/2015: So close

    1. Thank you 🙂 I have been pushing myself a lot, and while it got me quite far ahead, it is tiring! I guess that was to be expected, though, singing up for NaNoWriMo! Not long left now, so let’s keep going 🙂

      Like

Leave a Comment / Reply

