2015 · 2015/11 · NaNoWriMo · NaNoWriMo 2015

NaNoWriMo 30/11/2015: End of NaNoWriMo 2015!

It is the 30th of November 2015 which meant it is the end of this year’s National Novel Writing Month.

It was the first year that I signed up to participate, and I am oh so very proud to announce that I bloody did it! I wrote 50,078 words (this is what I see in Word where I wrote my ‘book’, but copied to the NaNoWriMo word count validation page it came out as 50,168 words for some reason??) in the past 30 days, yes I did (not counting the cc 10,000 words I wrote as the daily blog posts about my progress and some personal posts).

After a hopeful start and a slumping seconds week my writing picked up on the third week, only to be stalled over the last days of the month. Thanks to being a little ahead of the suggested word counts at the beginning of the fourth week, I was able to reach my goal of writing 50,000 words by the 30th of November even though I had four days when I could not write.

When I started this crazy challenge I wanted to write every single day, and I did so, no matter what, until the arrival of unexpected visitors turned my days upside down and I could not sit down to type for any length of time. If anything, this is my biggest regret, as I really wanted to be able to say that I wrote for thirty consecutive days, but alas life happened. In a way I am not overly upset, as I still reached my overall goal, but being able to write every day would have been a pretty nice bonus. Oh well. There’s always next year.

(I can’t believe I just said that!!!)


 

I guess it might be nice to summarise this last month here, just in numbers:

Day 7, Week 1 word count: 13,387

Day 14, Week 2 word count: 26,178 (+12,791)

Day 21, Week 3 word count: 43,186 (+17,008)

Day 28, Week 4 word count: 46,738 (+3,552)

Day 30, Final word count: 50,078 (+3,340)

Phew. That is some first marathon.


And I guess it might also be nice to reflect on lessons learnt, experiences gained et al.:

  • Impossible doesn’t exist.
  • I can do something crazy amazing if I set my mind to it.
  • Never underestimate the power of the unexpected in derailing the best of plans.
  • The feeling of achievement is sweet and rather cosy.
  • I can type fast even in a full set of acrylics, as long as my mind is open and I let my ideas flow.
  • Word crawls are fun and a real life belt.
  • Success does not require an audience. But cheerleaders help a lot.

Oh gosh I sound as nonsensical as I feel at the end of this looong looong month. I’ll finish up now.

But for those wondering about the point in NaNoWriMo and whether it’s really worth it… All I have to say is, you only live once. Yes, you really do. So, why the heck not?

 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 30/11/2015: End of NaNoWriMo 2015!

    1. Thanks 🙂 It’s been such a long month, but it feels really rewarding to have finished. You’ve come a long way as well, and actually managed to go from beginning to end. I am only really half-way through what I was planning to write, so well done you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment / Reply

