2015 · 2015/12 · Vignette

To the Disappearers

You who told me never to disappear from your life, to always be part of it in some shape or form, only to delete my number lest the missus snoops…

You who freak out if I go silent for two days in a row, childishly revenging your week(s) long disappearance, and call me panicked at 5am, only to ignore my calls…

You who complimented my smile and promise hoax concern and interest until I begin to believe it, only to leave me even more confused when a glitch is followed by silence…

You who alluded to a lifetime together in front of a fireplace and maybe even a baby in the crib, only to tell me you sold the never-existing ring when you got drunk and angry…

You who called me your pretty so many times that I finally believed your eyes were better than mine, only to see your status change to married a few years later with a girl who looks nothing like I…

You who got me drunk and gave my self respect a holiday in the gutter, only to shrug the ruins of my confidence off with a ‘no big deal, we’re cool, right?’…

You who took more than you ever knew, more than I would ever admit, only to throw it in my face and still stalk me for years…

 

… I deserve better than you.

 

Leave a Comment / Reply

