2015 · 2015/12 · Vignette

Little shop of misunderstandings

Áfra János: Little shop of misunderstandings

I would like to say, if you were here, I’d calm down,

But instead I say, your constant absence upsets me.

You would like to say, you would be next to me if you could,

But instead you say, we cannot always be together every day.

I would like to say, I’m waiting to see if you could love me too,

But instead I say, if you can settle for less, it means I’m not important to you.

You would like to say, one day I could be the most important of them all,

But instead you say, you have to keep some things to yourself.

I would like to say that together we could become more,

But instead I say, if you don’t think of us as a unit, then there’s no point.

You would like to say that in time it will all work out,

But instead you say, there are too many lines that you have already crossed.

I would like to say, just relax, let’s do it differently this time,

But instead I say, I can no longer just wait for your arrival.

You would like to say, please, just be patient for a little while longer,

But instead you say, I had already demanded too much.

I would like to say, okay, I will be more careful with my desires from now,

But instead I say, you are only thinking of yourself again.

You would like to say, you would have done almost anything for me,

But instead you say, I really cannot expect anything more than you’ve already done.

I would like to say, I’m just waiting for love to remain,

But instead I say, everybody is more important to you than I am.

You would like to say that you tried so hard to get close to me,

But instead you say, whatever you would do, it would still not be enough for me.

We would like to say, together we can still make this work,

But in the end we say, we’ve had enough, love in itself is simply not enough.

2 thoughts on “Little shop of misunderstandings

Leave a Comment / Reply

