2016 · 2016/01 · NaJoWriMo · NaJoWriMo 2016/01

NaJoWriMo 01/01/2016: What inspires me

It being the new and all, I decided to participate in NaJoWriMo for the second time (after last October) to start the year with regular writing. The theme this month is Journalling for Personal Growth and achieving Goals.

Today’s prompt is to consider what inspires and motivates me, what makes me feel creative, and what reinvigorates me when I feel down or overwhelmed, and what helps me reach my goals. Taking these questions in turn, I’m just going to mention a few things that pop to my head.

What inspires me:

Music and stories. Recently Doctor Who had so many amazing episodes, and the music accompanying certain scenes made the whole experience even more poignant. Every time I listen to the scores during the wall breaking scene in Heaven Sent, it makes me think nothing is impossible, to never give up, to keep going, to follow my dreams no matter how hard or impossible they seem. Also, the music played during the scene at the Singing Towers of Darillium was perfect in its every aspect, and no matter how many times I have listened to it now, it still makes me hope that love and happiness exists and is possible.

I have also found inspiration to try new things from pinterest, such as how to get my nails done or how to make Christmas decoration. Literally anything I could think of has a how-to or a list of examples somewhere on the internet, and pinterest makes it super easy to find them, while also suggesting alternatives / similar sites in the same theme, be it from philosophy to hair styles.

Recently I have spent some time updating my goodreads account, and I found a lot of forums and lists that inspired me to read different books, thematically, content-wise or as a challenge.

What motivates me:

Having been in limbo for the last two months waiting for all the paperwork to get sorted so that I can start my new job, it has been quite difficult to find the motivation sometimes to get out of bed and get dressed. I found that making plans in advance helps a lot – to meet up with friends, to agree with myself to go somewhere or get something done, anything really, as long as I plan it and I can hold myself accountable to do it. It can be as simple as writing a to do list or putting things in my calendar, and I am more likely to do it.

What makes me feel creative:

Doing anything with my own two hands, be it cooking or even applying make-up. Creating something out of nothing, such as writing. Forming separate things into a whole, like playing with clay with my nephew.

What reinvigorates me when I feel down or overwhelmed:

Listening to music must be the biggest aid I have. Sometimes I might listen to music as a background while I am concentrating for a longer period of time – this was especially useful during university. Other times I might feel like I can’t keep on going, and I put some music on that makes me cry, and I wake up with a fresh start. At times, I put some songs on and I sing along and I am happy and I am sad at the same time, as very few songs have uplifting lyrics. But music is definitely my haven.

I used to love taking long baths, but it has been years and years since I had a bathtub that I would be willing to actually sit in. This is being rectified at the moment as a new tub is getting installed in the next few days, and I cannot wait to be able to take a bath again.

When I feel stressed or overwhelmed or like I can’t cope with life in general I often escape to books. I look up something on amazon or goodreads that fits my given mood, and I read. To hell with reality, I’m checking out. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I can ignore deadlines, but reading outrageous fiction helped me through times when life got a little too real for my liking.

What helps me reach my goals:

I could say that having to-do lists and calendars and bucket lists and whatnot are the crux of how I go ahead in life, but those are just tools. There is a much more important rule that underlies my outlook on life. Having a simple but very important attitude: failure to try is not an option. As long as at least I try, I know I did not just let an opportunity pass me by, and that I am working on my goals. If I don’t try, I won’t get it. And if I don’t try, nobody else will do it for me. So it’s up to me. And by god, I will try and do my best, given any circumstances.

 

 

Leave a Comment / Reply

