2016 · 2016/01 · NaJoWriMo · NaJoWriMo 2016/01

NaJoWriMo 06/01/2016: Eat your heart out

According to today’s prompt, eating healthy can help achieve our goals. While I’m not exactly sure about the science behind such a simplistic conclusion (and I’m pretty sure emotionality, time, opportunity, culture, habits, and a ton of other stuff may play around as confounding variables), I am willing to ponder over my eating habits this one time only for NaJoWriMo’s sake.

According to WebMD, the source of all medico-scientific stuff, of course, there is a typology of unhealthy eaters, and the seven most common patterns are briefly considered in this article. Given the one-sentence description, I have self-diagnosed as a “fast foodist task snacker”. Basically, I eat a lot of processed, pre-prepared meals, and I tend to snack while doing various stuff. Yes, we should all prepare our own wholemeal organic free range fair-trade meals  from scratch and eat at the well set dinner table with some Brahms in the background, but sadly I have only ever met one person in my whole life who did that, and I had to wait twenty-five and a half years for that. I recognise that my eating habits and those of the aforementioned highly committed lady are on the opposite ends of the spectrum where a happy medium could be found. And yes, I would like to be able to sit down for dinner at 6pm sharp every evening, and discuss the day’s events over some home cooked nutrients, sipping wine. It might help me unwind, and relax, and switch off, and have some time to enjoy life instead of fretting over nothing all the time, pursuing some silly goals, and thus perhaps lead to being more productive on the whole. But alas, I have no dinner table, or a dinner companion to share the bottle of wine with. And if I were to sit there and drink the whole bottle in my loneliness, that would create a whole different unhealthy habit. So let’s not go there.

But I guess I see the point in today’s prompt. It’s a slap in the face after having a glass of cold water thrown at it. It’s a poke, a dig, a jab to think, admit it, make a change. Be better. At least try. And I have considered it, so today hasn’t been entirely futile.

Leave a Comment / Reply

