2016 · 2016/01 · NaJoWriMo · NaJoWriMo 2016/01

NaJoWriMo 09/01/2016: If only I did…

Today’s prompt is to reflect back at the future and think about what I wish I spent more time doing 5-10 years ago. I quite like this prompt, as it makes it easier to identify personal goals, recreational or developmental aims.

I guess I wish I spent more time taking care of myself. As long as I can remember I was always dismissed or written down as the chubby girl, and after a while I stop bothering to try and counter that view. As a result, I am in my mid-twenties and grossly unhappy with myself. I have started to take better care of myself in many areas, such as taking pride in my hair and nails, and trying to wear flattering clothes. However, it is a long way to go to being happy with what and who I am. After more than a year long hiatus, I joined the gym last November, and went a couple of times too. I felt like I was getting somewhere, doing something. But then a holiday abroad meant that I froze my membership, and I didn’t go for over a month again. Returning to the gym in January after the gluttonous holidays, I feel more than ever that I should make a habit of this.

I also wish I spent more time developing intellectually. I do not consider myself daft or ill-informed, but I do feel my general knowledge and understanding is lacking in some areas. For example, I am horrible at understanding politics. I wish I knew more about that. I also always wanted to get into philosophy, read a few general overviews and classics, but I hardly got to it. Current developments in science and research also interest me, and I try to keep up to date as much as possible. However, one of the drawbacks of this digital knowledge era is that there is simply too much out there to know. If I was to keep up to date with all my interests, I would spent my days reading the news non-stop. I guess it’s all about priorities. I was lucky enough to pursue my degrees in subjects that were able to keep me up day and night, and I can’t see myself tiring of reading up on them. But there’s so much else to know. I guess the habit of reading the news on a regular basis years ago is one of the things I wish I had.

Other things I wish I have done before include getting a driving licence, visiting more places, keep practising German after passing my exam, falling in love, and having my hair dyed so it wouldn’t such a big deal to do it now.

Leave a Comment / Reply

